Family Visit – November 4, 2009 (Wednesday) – Thanksgiving and Birthdays

Posted: November 13, 2009 in Family

This week has been beautiful and today was no exception.  My Dad brought me some fig trees, loquat trees, wisteria, century plant, and hydrangeas.  Today Dad and I planted all of them in pots.  JD helped with the flowerbed in the back of the house and we relocated the rocks to the front yard.  While we were outside my Mom was in the house fixing a Thanksgiving lunch.

 

Our neighbor, Terri, dropped by and my Dad gave him some grapefruit, oranges, and persimmons that he brought to me.  All of this fruit came from the trees that my Dad tends to back in Livingston, TX at his home.  Terri told my Dad that the fruit was a very special gift and he was not going to share with anyone.

 

Once we finished in the yard, we went inside.  I helped in the kitchen and I believe JD and Dad took a break from all of our hard work.  I baked some little lemon cakes, but forgot to spay the baking pan first.  They did not look to pretty, but they still tasted good.  Before we began eating, I was asked to say the prayer.  Well, I tried, but I ended up in tears and could not say another word.  My baby brother gave me a hug and my Dad took over the prayer.  Then we proceeded to have a great mid afternoon lunch and birthday celebration.  Oh, and my Mom has all of this on video.

 

Later that day we rested, watched movies, and worked in my craft room.  I taught my Mom how to use a scanner and she scanned many photos (about 200 or so). 

Leave a comment